Have You Ever Been Stared at by a Hummingbird?

DSC00973

Now you have!
DSC00991

The hummingbirds are now landing on my hand when I change the feeder. I have ordered a hand-held feeder, but have yet to determine how I will feed them and take pics at the same time! They tend to look at me quite directly as you can see in this and the next post’s photos!

DSC00979
Hummingbirds are one of the most aggressive bird species. They will attack jays, ravens and even some hawks. They climb to great heights and dive bomb each other at up to 60 mph!

DSC01033

The hummingbird above right is flying backwards away from another bird. Hummers are the only birds that can fly backwards. They can also fly upside down!
DSC01037
I have purchased a second hanging feeder to lessen the competition between the birds. I have heard and seen the impacts, but so far no bird has been injured, and they even co-operate…

View original post 62 more words

3 thoughts on “Have You Ever Been Stared at by a Hummingbird?

  1. Pingback: Hummingbirds on High | I see beauty all around by rob paine

Leave a Reply

